Pembina Hills Local 22 Highlight Reel

November 2022

➤ Bargaining 2020:

Teacher Welfare Update



- Current Collective Agreement had an end date of 2020.
- Bargaining is 2-tier:
 - Provincial matters were settled with mediator's report and teachers voted in June
 - Local matters follow provincial settlement
- Currently looking at improvements to collective agreement on matters on local issues
- Survey data is being collected and will be compiled into an opening proposal for negotiations to begin at our local level
- A Bargaining Unit General Meeting (BUGM) will be held for Pembina Hills teachers to view, provide feedback, and vote on opening proposal.
- Virtual BUGM on January 30th at 5:00pm. Links and more information will be sent soon!

Round Table Discussions

The purpose of Round Table discussions is to get stakeholders (teachers, community members, business owners, parent council

members, etc) – thinking and pondering on the Guiding Question below:

- What are your hopes for Alberta's children and our public schools so that they can thrive into the future?
- Pembina Hills Local 22 will be training Local Executive and School Reps on how to run a Round Table Discussion on Thursday, November 24th.
- ➤ Pembina Hills Local 22 will be holding a Round Table Discussion on January 12, 2023 at the Westlock Inn. Registration is at 6:30pm and the Round Table Discussion will begin at 7:00pm.
- Come out, get involved and advocate for students today and in the future!
- ➤ The bold, hopeful vision for children and public education will be communicated widely and used to support the 2023 provincial election mobilization campaign

Retirement and Induction Ceremony

- On November 9th, we had an awesome celebration for our annual Induction & Retirement Social
- > 76 guests attended honoring:
 - 10 new teachers (Erica Toker, Abby Keyes, Rhonda Stoik, Kirsten Proft, Ashley Wolfe, Cole Medcke, Stafanie Morel, Kennedy Matear, Autumn Taha & Taylor Properzi)
 - 5 Retirees (Darcie Eamor, Pat Ternan, Patricia Rogerson, Loya DeClerca & Heather Ross)
 - 7 Retirees from 2021 (Nora Nykipilo, Anne-Marie Bokenfohr, Perry Kulmatyski, Gary Frederickson, Claire Vincent, Doug Pinder, Norene Pinder & Bill Workun)
 - o 1 of last year's inductees (Karis Henry)
- ➤ We were also joined by our ATA President, Jason Schilling, our Superintendent, Associate Superintendents and Board members.

For more details, contact your School Representative.